fbpx

Award winning Independent bookshop selling new books, comics, gifts and Warhammer

Latest Events

Welcome to 2024, we have new events coming to the bookshop and other local venues.

It helps us with planning if you can book in advance, especially if you want to get to get your books ordered to collect in advance or at the event. No need to bring a ticket, we will check your name against a guest list at the door.

If you have a question and don’t use email then please phone 01480 412315 or call in to the shop.

Events supported by Niche Comics Bookshop: Click here for all events

We love the events at the Commemoration Hall, High Street Huntingdon too Click here for all events

MEET Andy Sagar: ‘Yesterday Crumb’ event and Book Signing

Come and meet children’s author Andy Sagar on Tuesday 18th June 4:00 pm at Niche Comics Bookshop

We are celebrating Independent Bookshop Week with children’s author Andy Sagar and sharing the magic of his Yesterday Crumb stories.  Recommended for ages 8-11 years FREE entry.

Tuesday 18th June 4pm in the bookshop

Andy will be storytelling from his books chatting about the characters and worlds he has created and being an author. Welcome to the magical world of Miss Dumpling’s Travelling Teashop at Dwimmerly End for a third unbe-leaf-able adventure filled with tea-riffic brews, captivating cakes and so much more!.   Afterwards Andy will be signing his books and chatting.

About his books: for readers aged 8-12, about a girl with fox ears who has never fitted in. With adventure and magic in every teacup, this is perfect for fans of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency and Starfell.

Yesterday Crumb is no ordinary girl. She was born with fox ears that have cursed her to a lonely life working in the circus and her origins are a complete mystery. But she is about to escape into the adventure of a lifetime when she learns that she’s a strangeling who’s lost her magic.

MEET Helen Lederer ‘Not that I’m bitter’ Book Signing

Join us on Wednesday 12th June, 7pm for a special chat and signing with actress, writer, stand up and TV comedy icon Helen Lederer. This event will include an audience Q&A. After the event there will be an opportunity to get your book signed by the author.

The Arts Cafe/Bar will be open and the venue is wheelchair accessible.
Books can be pre-ordered and signed at the end of the evening.
Books available now at the bookshop.

‘Helen Lederer is the third funniest woman in the world’ – DAWN FRENCH
‘Dizzy, dippy and divinely funny, Helen Lederer takes you on an insanely readable tour through her chaotically wonderful life.’ – STEPHEN FRY

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
What was it like as one of a handful of women at the heart of the right-on alternative comedy scene in the 1980s? Piece of cake? Bit of a laugh? Well, yes, and no. It had its ups – but also its downs. Helen Lederer was a regular on the stand-up circuit and new-wave sketch shows in the decade that launched the careers of today’s comedy household names and national treasures.
She shared stages with comedy pioneers like Ben Elton and John Hegley, and TV screens with Dawn French, Jennifer Saunders, Harry Enfield, and many others. From the iconic Absolutely Fabulous, to Bottom, Happy Families, Naked Video, French and Saunders and Girls on Top, it is difficult to think of a comedy show that Helen wasn’t a part of. From writing radio shows, to performing on the West End her wry, witty perspectives, and her face, are unforgettable. So, plain sailing then? Well, not really.
Not That I’m Bitter, her powerful, frank, moving and characteristically funny memoir, reveals exactly how choppy the waters could be.
There’s something in Helen Lederer’s life-story that everyone, can relate to.
A genuinely funny memoir with lots of heart (and just the right amount of bitterness!), she pulls no punches, but every blow is wrapped in a laugh of recognition. Brilliantly written, revealing, and moving, Not That I’m Bitter is sweet, sour, laugh out loud, and addictive.